Leaving Home

You’ve heard a lot about our current life so far. Now it’s time to rewind to the days before we left Massachusetts. This was the beginning of an amazing journey. The cross-country trip was probably the most incredible experience I will ever have. Of course, before we left I could only think one moment to the next. There were a lot of things that had to fall into place for us to actually get out the door and on the road.

In February, Trev completed the last stage in his complete robotic reconstruction: capsular plication surgery. Scheduling the surgery before we left ensured good health insurance for his recovery and a more comfortable life in Hawaii. It was the right thing to do, but it sure complicated things before we left. I became solely responsible for anything physical along with anything that required driving.

We were lucky to find great renters to take care of our home while we set out on our adventure. I’ll probably get into the process of renting property in a future post, but for now let’s talk about moving. Moving sucks, guys. Feeling like I was a bit too old to ask my friends for help moving (and having a very real problem asking for help with anything), Trev and I began to go through every last box of crap we’d accumulated in the six years we were in our house. It’s incredible what you think is important in the moment. Good thing I kept that styrofoam wreath form (said no one, ever)! In truth, the process of paring down our belongings was very cleansing. By the end of the process, I was happy to be living with less.

The fun part, of course was finding old pictures and memories like these.

20150301_162248

The last days in our house were truly a blur. I left my job on Wednesday, March 11th and we were leaving Massachusetts on Saturday March 14th. Somehow I thought that was plenty of time to pack and move everything we’d ever owned. In fact, not only did I think we’d have plenty of time, I had all kinds of plans to relax and hang out with friends and family in those three days. Just a heads up to anyone as delusional as I was: it’s not going to happen. We never could have gotten out of that house without the help and generosity of ouR parents.

My ever-wise mother-in-law suggested we get the moving ball rolling about a month ahead of time. The Sullivans wanted to help before they took their annual March trip to Texas and thank god for that because we were able to move a good amount of stuff out of the house that day. After our initial caravan to the Cape, where my parents generously offered to store our stuff, we didn’t make another trip until moving day. I’ll spare you the details, but we got up at 6:00 am on Thursday March 12th to greet the movers. We spent the entire day cleaning and moving everything we could. I was sure we would be out by the end of the day. I cannot emphasize how many times I was wrong in these three days.

Here is just a taste of the chaos that was our house on Thursday and Friday:

Thursday and Friday were two of the most stressful days of my life. In the spirit of transparency, I’ll tell you my parents may have actually saved my life on Thursday afternoon by arriving while I was in the middle of a full mental collapse in the bathroom. It’s really important to me that I express the role my parents played in this move. Anyone who has met the Regans knows they’re great people, but in those days they went so far above and beyond what any reasonable person would ask, even I was shocked. Beyond storing a housefull of belongings and being ridiculously supportive of our entire crazy plan, they spent pretty much all of Thursday, Friday, and Saturday packing, moving, and cleaning our house. With and without us. We may still be in that house cleaning today if it weren’t for them. As I mentioned above, I have a serious problem asking for help, but in that way mothers always do, my mom knew I needed help and took care of us both without questions or hesitation. My parents would just tell you they were doing what parents do, taking care of their kids (and kids-in-law), but we will pretty much owe them forever.

I would also feel like a total dirtbag if I forgot to shout out our close friend Pete Tuffs, who thankfully forced his help on us at the last minute. He spent most of Friday helping us pack and dump stuff and basically just being an outstanding human. Thanks Pete!

We spent Friday night organizing and doing some last-minute packing. I finally got some relaxing time visiting with my BFFL Meredith, Trev got a brownie sundae with his friends, and we got to spend a whole lot of time with John and Dianne. Saturday morning, in the middle of of a 35 degree rain storm, Trev tied the largest dog crates you’ve ever seen to the top of the Jeep. We were packed to the gills with only the essentials: our clothes, some food, and our two dogs. True to form, we were left an hour late because leaving on time would just be boring. We said our tear-filled goodbyes and we were off to Virginia!

2015-04-30_11.33.15

Leave a Reply

