Hawaii Happenings: Boating and Hiking and Running, Oh My!

The past two weeks have been full of adventures I can’t wait to tell you about! Trev went back to work last week and I’ve found myself with a lot of time to fill. When I’m not chillin’ with the pups or applying for jobs, I’m trying to get out and have some fun. I was feeling kind of sorry for myself when Trev started working again until I received this sage advice from my dad: “You’re in paradise, try to sound like it.” Consider my attitude checked.

On his last Friday of vacation, Trev and I finally used a farewell gift we’d been very excited about. My friend Mariah and her husband Dave gave us two tickets for a MaiTa’i Catamaran cruise. It had been one of their favorite things to do when they lived here, so we were looking forward to trying it out ourselves. Both Trev and I grew up on the water. My dad, once a merchant marine, always loved sailing, and Trev’s family spends their summers aboard his dad’s boat at the Cape.

The cruise was an hour and a half from Waikiki just past Diamond Head and back. It was even more beautiful than I expected. We had a gorgeous view right away, even as we boarded the boat. I’m kind of glad we waited a bit to take the cruise because it was cool to see places we now knew from a different perspective. The water was gorgeous. We’re used to seeing the turquoise of the shallows by the beach, but the deeper water we sailed into was a stunning electric blue. And of course, there were delicious mai tais! Trev even got two for free because the crew liked his Patriots hat. We got drinks at the Royal Hawaiian Mai Tai Bar when we got back to shore and capped our night off with a a fancy dinner at the House Without a Key.

Once Trev went back to work, I was looking for things to do, so I texted the only friend I’ve made since I’ve been here. I met Jessa and her sweet dog, Baloo, at the Diamond Head Bark Park a while back. She was trying to help me get a job where she works, but it didn’t work out. Since then, we’ve kept in contact and chatted a bit, but I thought it was a good time for our first official hangout. She was nice enough to invite me hiking and to the beach with a few of her friends. We met up to do the Lanikai Pillbox Hike. The Pillbox Hike is a short, steep hike along the Kaiwa Ridge to reach two WWII military bunkers (or pillboxes) built into the hillside. The views are stunning. It’s not a terribly difficult hike, although it’s pretty slippery at points with steep, crumbling rockface. Jessa was a trooper, hiking the whole way with a sinus infection. When we were done, we were all ready to cool off. We walked over to Lanikai Beach, which we could see from the top of our hike. It was a really fun afternoon and I was grateful to have been invited.

My most recent adventure was the Roxy #RUNSUPYOGA event this past weekend at Turtle Bay Resort. I stumbled across the 5K run online two weeks ago. I’d been looking for inspiration to get back into running and get back up to three miles. I have a love/hate relationship with running. I hate pretty much everything about it until it’s over. Then I feel great and I can tell myself I did something healthy. Registering for a race always gives me the motivation to push myself, though. It didn’t hurt that it was only $5 to register for each event. I spent the past two weeks building up from two to three miles, which doesn’t sound that difficult, but I’ve been having a particularly hard time getting used to running in the heat here.

The #RUNSUPYOGA event was of particular interest to me because it not only included running, but also yoga, which I love. I’d never tried SUP (stand up paddleboarding), but I’ve been interested in learning since we arrived. I loved our trip to Haleiwa, so I was looking forward to spending some more time on the North Shore. The day of the event, I woke up at 6:30 to drive Trev to work and set off on the hour drive to Kahuku. I texted Mariah because her sister, Jess, works at Turtle Bay and it turned out she was at the race! I ended up spending the day with her and her friends, which made the event a lot more fun.

I actually did OK in the race. Not as good as I’d have liked, but it was hot and it was a partial beach run, which killed me. At least I finished and everything around me was beautiful. Between the race and the SUP event, Jess’s friend Lana taught me how to SUP and I really loved it. It was more difficult than I expected to find my balance when I first got up. Once I did, though, I found it really simple and relaxing. Only one inflatable buoy bumped me off the board. That’s gotta be a record, right? Lana and her friend Tara both competed in the SUP event. Lana placed 6th in her wave and Tara placed first, which was especially impressive because she’d never SUPed before that day!

While I watched those SUP racers work hard, I ate some great ahi poke. Then, I rounded out the day with some yoga on the resort lawn, which was a godsend. I was in desperate need of the stretch after pushing myself in the 5K. I pretty much passed out from the minute I got home until the next afternoon. I’ve never been so active in one day, but it was a ton of fun. I’ll definitely be looking out for #RUNSUPYOGA again next year!

One thought on “Hawaii Happenings: Boating and Hiking and Running, Oh My!

Leave a Reply

